23 November 2018

Last Wednesday 22 pupils ranging from the Third Year to the Upper Sixth took part in the Oxford Schools Cross-Country Championship.

The intermediate race was 4.2 km; the key part of this race was the hill up through the woods with a fairly steep descent back down, the competitors would then run on level ground through the woods and end up back at the rugby pitch were they set off.

A notable performance came from third year Henry Channon who finished in 3rd place and completed the course in 15 minutes 47 seconds. The team ended up taking away first place out of all the schools that came and competed which was a very impressive result.

In the senior race the boys put in some gusty performances against tough competition to finish 3rd overall and fielded the largest squad in the race, a testament to the commitment of the Club considering that seven of the more prominent runners were away, racing at St Albans.

The team faced a challenging 5.5km course which was made harder by the previous day's rain and the daunting Shotover Hill which the boys had to climb twice during the race.

The first Abingdonian back was Kipp Mainstone, who finished in 10th overall with an impressive time of 21:15, closely followed by Thomas Phillip at 21:22. James Ashby won his intense sprint finish with Nathan Hudson, finishing in 22:27 and 22:30 respectively.

A notable performance was made by fifth year Alex Oldham who not only cheered his own teammates round the course but also finished with a respectable time of 22:45.  All in all an enjoyable race and the boys should be proud.

Written by Louis Trotter (3rd year) and Jacob Henney (U6).

Inter Results

Team: 1st


3rd Henry Channon – 15:47
6th Luis Vasconcelos – 16:27
13th Jeffery Lau – 17:01
17th Louis Trotter – 17:07
18th Thomas Kent – 17:10
19th Benjamin MacLennan – 17:14
26th Sam Webber – 17:29
29th Alfie Blake – 17:43
49th Matthew Rolfe – 18:42
51st Thomas Daly – 18:54
62nd Ollie Sutton – 19:31

Senior Results

Team: 3rd


10th Kipp Mainstone – 21:15
12th Thomas Phillip – 21:22
21st James Ashby – 22:27
22nd Nathan Hudson – 22:30
25th Jacob Henney – 22:40
27th Alex Oldham – 22:45
32nd Alfie Monger-Godfrey – 23:30
33rd Kiran Gathani – 23:39
34th Oliver Breach – 23:46
36th Cameron Butcher – 24:10
37th Yazan Odeh – 24:28

More News