27 March 2018

Since September, 25 lower sixth physicists have been grappling with this year's Blott Matthews Engineering Challenge – E4E or Energy for Everything. The brief was to design the energy and transport infrastructure required for a city of 2 million people covering the Southampton and Portsmouth area. The difficulty was to ensure that it was carbon neutral and that only technology that would be available within the next ten years could be used. The design was to be fully costed.

With the reports submitted at the end of February, the boys then had to create a poster detailing their design highlights and prepare for interviews with the judges. These took place in Southampton on Saturday (24 March) and the boys put in an outstanding performance against some truly innovative submissions. 

Charles Matthews wrote afterwards that the boys “had produced some excellent work, presented themselves well and are a credit to the school”. 

Electri.City gained third prize of £300 and Wattever and Team Millet both received Merit Awards of £100 each.

The photos show Electri.city receiving their award from the judges, Charles Matthews, Richard Blott and two engineers from ARUP as well as being interviewed. The other two teams are with their posters.

The boys representing their teams were:
Electri.City – Robert Smith, James Ashby, Didier Delgorge, Oliver Breach and John Dickson
Wattever – Thitipat Ditrungroj, Tristan Tsoi, Matthew Kunov, Marcus Kam and Jasper Dale
Team Millet – Simon Maddison, Toby Rowles, Adam Wentworth and Pierre-Louis Peuch

Many boys were unable to attend due to sporting commitments but Jate and Tom Shannon both played large parts in the design of the posters.

More News