View the virtual tour of the Chapel
In the 12th century the Benedictine monks of Abingdon Abbey founded the School - we claim St Edmund as one of our first boys - and built St Nicolas' Church, where the School worshipped. In the 16th century the Church became part of the new Church of England. The School continues that parish church link with three annual services in St Helen's and St Michael's Churches.
Since 1903 daily worship has taken place in the School Chapel. Every year of boys has a ten - minute service each week. These services are non-denominational in Christian character, suitable for those of any faith or none. They give pupils and staff an experience of Christian worship; they are invited to participate as they feel able. During a busy week, it is a valuable opportunity to consider matters spiritual with other members of the School family.
There are voluntary services of daily morning prayer and lunch-time Holy Communion on holy days. Boarders' chapel happens one evening a month and the spiritual life of the boarding community is resourced in a variety of ways.
Each March a bishop of the Church of England comes to confirm boys who seek the full adult life of the Church.
The Chapel now has a whole suite of windows by artist Nicholas Mynheer, a large eagle lectern that bears the date 1694, and memorial plaques for the Old Abingdonians who fell in the World Wars and for some former assistant masters.
A Christian Union group meets weekly and an Alpha course is available for senior boys.
The Chaplain has an important pastoral role for pupils and staff.