4 December 2017

Oxford University's Mens 1st XV came into Abingdon School for their final team training session before their annual Varsity Match against Cambridge University at Twickenham Stadium this Thursday 7 December.

Oxford University Head Coach, James Wade, who was appointed Abingdon School’s Forwards Coach in the summer organised the day with Director of Rugby, Matthew Gold. Oxford University used the school’s new fitness suite, the hospitality suite for team analysis, and our Waste Court rugby pitch for their final preparation. Abingdon School's 1st XV had a real treat as they took part in a non-contact training session running in phases of attack and defence. The day culminated in the Oxford players taking Abingdon School 1st XV players aside for some one to one training sessions. An incredible experience with Andy Saull (former Saracens), Sam Edgerley (former England 7s) and Dom Waldouck (Newcastle) taking sessions, along with Saracens and England scrum half, Richard Wigglesworth. This was a real treat and a memory the boys will have forever.

The Varsity Rugby Match between Oxford and Cambridge University is one of the world’s longest running sporting fixtures. It represents the pinnacle of amateur and student rugby where two of the most prestigious universities in the world compete for the title of Varsity holders. There have been 134 matches played, with Cambridge leading Oxford 62 – 59 and 14 matches drawn. Today the match is watched by more than 25,000 spectators and over 500,000 television viewers.

This Thursday 50 of our Middle School pupils who have committed to the Abingdon School Rugby Club this Michaelmas term will be going to watch the big match to be inspired and enjoy a great finish to their season.

Men's Blues team for 2017

1. John Aaron Henry (Somerville) 2. Ed Elvin (St Hugh’s) 3. Kieran Ball * (Trinity) 4. Lisiate Fifita (St Edmund Hall) 5. Charlie Pozniak (St Benet’s Hall) 6. Rob Talotti (Peter’s) 7. Andy Saull (Kellogg) 8. Will Wilson * (Keble) 9. Tom Kershaw * (Worcester) 10. Conor Kearns * (Jesus) Capt. 11. Ed David * (St Hilda's) 12. Sam Moorby (Queen's) 13. Dan Moor # (Christ Church) 14. Tom Stileman * (St Peter’s) 15. Sam Edgerley (St Catherine's)

16. Will Thornton * (Lady Margaret Hall) 17. Noah Miller (St Peter’s) 18. Ben Parker (Brasenose) 19. Hugo McPherson (Lady Margaret Hall) 20. Ollie Adams (Lady Margaret Hall) 21. Alex Hogg * (Keble) 22. Dom Waldouck (Kellogg) 23. Dan Barley (St Edmund Hall)

Travelling reserve:

Dylan McGagh (Magdalen)

More News