4 June 2021

Blue sky, blazing sunshine and calm water welcomed the Boat Club as The National Schools Regatta returned for the first time in two years.

The 1st VIII, 2nd VIII, 3rd VIII and J16 A and B crews all made the journey to the London 2012 Olympic Course at Dorney to race against the best in the country. After two challenging seasons due to Covid disruption, all the crews raced and performed superbly and showed real character, grit and determination.

Having only started rowing again on 8 March and racing many schools who had rowed since 5 September the Fifth Form have trained with real commitment and intensity. The J16 A crew raced their way to 12th overall. The J16 B crew made it into the A final and placed 5th in the country and can be really proud of their efforts.

The 1st VIII, 2nd VIII and 3rd VIII all raced fantastically to make it into the A/Top finals of their events and produced a superb set of results with all of the crews finishing in the top four nationally. The 1st and 2nd VIII raced fantastically in their finals to finish 4th overall. The 3rd VIII rowed a tough race to sneak away with a 3rd place overall and bronze medal.

All the rowers can be really proud of their efforts, commitment and training this year, and we would really like to thank our Upper Sixth for their exceptional attitude and racing throughout their time at school, and for whom this was their last racing at National Schools.

The boys who raced so well in the crews are listed below.

1st vIII 2nd VIII 3rd viii J16 A J16 B
Eddie Peacock Harry Batchelor Luka Cherriman Tom Perrot Peter Harris
Ben Crofts Freddie Cunningham Sam King Daniel Reynolds George Cady
Steffan Conway Tom Graham Max O’Brien Henry Dearden Trystan Moore
Daniel McNamara Lachlan Jones Ben Broadbent Freddie Badcock Arthur Monaghan
George Beer Rory Cameron-Martin Isaac Mortiboy Alex Smit Tunmise Adebutu
Chris Fry Harry Watkins Will Farr Archie Wood Thomas McGonnell
Daniel Woodrow Matthew Hoult James Robinson Geordie Anderson Thomas Wilson
Sam Hayes-Newington Will Jenkinson Barney Fox Harrison Walton Sam Daly
Charlie Symonds Finn Wilson Ianto Brewer Daniel Barratt Tom Wright


More News