Henley Royal Regatta 2010

Old Abingdonians appeared in a number of events and several different boat types at the 2010 Henley Royal Regatta. Rory Copus (2009), returning from UC Berkeley, coxed neighbours, Abingdon Rowing Club, to a 3 lengths defeat to Molesey Boat Club B in The Thames Challenge Cup. In The Temple, Andrew Hatzis (2009) rowed at seven for the Newcastle University crew, which lost to Nottingham University; Christopher Halls (2006) rowed for the Warwick University eight that lost to eventual winners Washington University of the USA. 

Before going onto the World U23, Max Gander coxed the University of London A crew to a victory over Hertford College, Oxford, before defeat at the hands of Queen’s University, Belfast A. In The Prince Albert, Gus Raftery (2008) was bow in the Oxford Brookes B crew that lost by a length to University College Dublin. In the same event, Tim Clarke (2009) rowed for the Newcastle University four that managed victories over Glasgow University (4½ lengths) and Yale University (1¼ lengths) before losing to Bristol University in the semi-finals on Saturday. Sculling in a quad, stroke Matthew Rossiter (2008) led a powerful Durham University and Leander Club crew from behind to a victory on Thursday against Agecroft Rowing Club and Durham University, before succumbing in a fast time and a verdict of 23 of a length to seeded Reading University and Loughborough Students’ Rowing Club. 

The first eight had what proved to be a tough draw, being paired up for a show-down with the formidable Eton College first eight on the Friday. On the Wednesday and Thursday they saw off Norwich School and Dulwich College in fairly comfortable style (3½ lengths and 2¼ lengths respectively). The actual race on Friday displayed a great effort from the crew and they gave Eton their closest race of the event, however Eton’s quality showed and they beat Abingdon by 1¼ lengths. Eton went on to win by 4 lengths in the final and secure their second successive treble.

Most promisingly for Abingdon is that five of the 2010 first eight oarsmen will return in 2011.

Mike Litchfield (1994 and Common Room) 


More News

Henley Royal Regatta