Abingdon School’s First World War Dead

Since 2014 the School has been uploading a photograph and biography on the centenary of the death of each Abingdonian who lost his life in the Great War. The biographies have been compiled from the Abingdon School Admission Register, the school magazine – The Abingdonian – the records of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission and from letters and documents sent to the School by the families of the dead. Addresses are as stated in the Admission Register. Where there is no photograph of the casualty an image of the poppy from the Services Window in the School Chapel has been used instead.

Click on a photo to see the full biography.

Lieutenant Guy John Hamilton Ashwin, 1894-1916 Paymaster Alan Murray Austin RN, 1884-1914 Corporal William Stewart Badcock, 1888-1916 Lieutenant Charles Talbot Baker 1879- 1918 Major Sydney Harold Baker, 1881-1918 Captain Edward Fleetwood Berry MC, 1888-1916 Private Arthur Richard Betteridge, 1884-1917 Private Harold Edward Betteridge, 1900-1918 Arthur Anthony Brown MC, 1886-1918 Lieutenant John Ranby Brown, 1880-1918 Serjeant Leonard Oliver Burge, 1893-1916 Harry William Bradley Burkett, 1895-1918 Second Lieutenant Thomas Hubert Buswell, 1896-1918 Lance Corporal Howard Vincent Campbell 1895-1918 Corporal Hugh Stanley Cannon, 1888-1914 Captain Norman Bowen Challenor, 1885-1915 Private Sidney Ernest Clack, 1899-1918 Corporal James Arthur Cobb, 1891-1915 Lieutenant Cyril Edward Cook, 1893-1916 Private Donald Cullen, 1898-1918 Private Roy D’Almaine, 1896-1916 Lieutenant Arthur Davenport, 1897-1918 Philip Leslie Deacon, 1882-1918 Lance Corporal Archibald Dunn, 1886-1918 Second Lieutenant Alan Eason, 1897-1916 Second Lieutenant Henry Francis Edgecumbe Edwardes, 1880-1917 Captain Cuthbert Joseph Ellison, 1888-1919 Corporal Leonard Franklin Gale, 1884-1915 Private Rowland Cuthbert Gillingham, 1890-1917 Lieutenant Duncan Matthew Goodyear, 1892-1917 Second Lieutenant Raymond Norman Goodyear, 1895-1917 Lieutenant Eric Montrose Graham, 1893-1915 Second Lieutenant Ronald Macleod Graham, 1895-1915 Captain Innes Edward Griffin, 1888-1916 Private John Horace Habgood, 1890-1915 Lieutenant William Piercy Harragin, 1884-1918 Captain Eric Howard Harvey MC and Bar, 1890-1918 Private John Harvey, 1895-1918 Second Lieutenant Richard Tuckey Hewer, 1887-1917 Lieutenant John William Hood, died 1918 Lieutenant John Allan Howard, 1893-1918 Lt Colonel Lacey Robert Johnson, 1855 - 1915 Lieutenant Kenneth Vivian King, 1896-1918 Lieutenant George Reginald Stuart Layng, 1895-1916 Wireless Operator Thomas Norman Leach, 1900-1918 Private William John Lewington, 1896-1918 Private Harold George Louth, 1888-1915 Second Lieutenant Frank William Lupton, 1895-1916 Rifleman Dudley Harold Marcus, 1895-1916 Lieutenant Bernard Sanderson Marshall, MC, 1894-1917 Private Percy Norman Miles, 1898-1917 Captain John Theobald Milne MC, 1895–1917 Second Lieutenant John McGeorge Mitchell, 1891–1915 Lieutenant Wilfred Robert Mortleman, 1891–1918 Lance Corporal Alfred Norman Perrin, 1891–1918 Company Quartermaster Serjeant Clement Edward Perrin, 1894–1916 Second Lieutenant Alfred Owen Challoner Pryce, 1883–1918 Air Mechanic Charles William Sydney Robinson, 1895–1918 Lieutenant Louis Francis Woodward Robinson, 1893–1917 Second Lieutenant George Scrase Saxby, 1883–1917 Lieutenant Archibald Jenner Sells, 1882–1916 Flight Sub-Lieutenant Arthur Gelston Shepherd, 1894–1915 Captain Norman Percy Shepherd-Turneham, 1878–1916 Private Herbert Shopland, 1876–1916 Lieutenant Robert Bishop Slade, 1892–1918 Lieutenant Charles Francis Bateman Smith, 1886–1915 Major Richard Abbot Sparkes, 1884–1918 Lance Serjeant Walter Edwin Staniland, 1884–1915 Private Geoffrey Howarth Tinegate, 1898 – 1915 Serjeant Robert Valentine Weaving, 1889 – 1916 Second Lieutenant Arthur Pelham Webb, 1885 – 1917 Second Lieutenant Almericus John de Courcy Williams, 1895-1914 Lieutenant Wilfred Cyril Williams, 1894 – 1916 Lieutenant Richard Willis, 1888 – 1916  Captain George Woods, 1894 – 1916